Infectious New York Air

This morning I beat the wake up call.

I stretched and almost innately reached for my Iphone , reading the screen- 7:15. I peered towards the window and saw the sun was already shining down on the Big Apple streets. I peered out the window and observed the yellow taxies picking up and dropping off customers. I could see a couple run across seventh avenue in suites and sneakers with black work bags in hand running into the deli to grab a quick breakfast before getting their Monday started. A quote from a French writer, Simone de Beauvoir, states “There is something in the New York air that makes sleep useless.”

Although it has been long days and late nights, the New York City energy revives me. I am drawn towards being outside in the city. I do not know if it is the commotion and busyness of the environment or something in the air here. Either way I see the energy in New York City as nourishment with senses taking in information all of the time. The people are so diverse, the sites are always changing, and ideas are endless.

IMG_2273

I am nourished by the talent that I see here at the conference and throughout the city. I do not mean talent as in everyone here can sing and dance outstandingly. The talent that I am referring to is that each area of New York City has a distinctive competence. Broadway has the musical entertainment. Brooklyn heights has the promenade with special green streets that stress the importance of a clean environment. Soho is a huge attraction for shopping and fashion boutiques. It is energizing that each area has its own uniqueness that makes it stand out from all of the rest.

Everything is ever changing in New York City. I find it inspiring and a strength when ideas are evolving because that means a community of people are working together to come up with the best outcome when a decision needs to be made. For example, the High Line is a section of the former New York Central Railroad and has been redesigned and established as an aerial greenway. Because of this transformation, the High Line has attracted real estate development in the surrounding neighborhoods. This energy and nourishment is spread throughout the city in that there is something in the air that makes everyone seem to be awake and energized.

Image

Photo of the High Line courtesy of landarch.com

I know going back to school it will hit me that I need to catch up and actually shut down for a bit. But for now, I could not be happier to walk down the marble steps onto 7th Avenue, smell the hot dogs from street vendors, hear the cars and mumbling of people, and know that it simply feels right.

XO,Gabi

This entry was posted in CMA-New York City. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

