Setting Summer Goals

With summer being almost halfway over for myself, I decided I wanted to accomplish more than travel to a place halfway across the world. After all, what is summer for? It is the time to unwind and rejuvenate, hang out with friends and visit family, vacation, see concerts, and enjoy the sun. It is also free time to dabble and dive into the tasks or topics that you are unable to visit during the school year. I have made a list of five goals that I have set for myself to accomplish by the end of the summer.

Goal number 1: Number one on my list is to R.E.A.D. Yes, just read! During the school year I am so busy and have little free time, let alone reading time. The rest of the summer I want to be going through some good books like water. CONFESSION: I have not even read the first Hunger Games book yet…. First up is the book Pacific Rims, which was recommended to me by my professor who lead the Study Abroad Seminar the Philippines.

Pacific Rims

Pacific Rims

Goal number 2: Get stronger. Sure I may dance, run, practice Pilates, and be very flexible, but what I am lacking is strength. I lack upper body strength and want to work on that this summer. I plan on designing a work out that I can do a couple times a week to increase my upper body strength and plan on being quite a power house by the end of the summer. I will keep you posted on my progress and even post the work out I design for those who want to try it too.

Goal number 3: I want to learn how to cook..and really cook, not just mac and cheese! I am moving into a new house with my friends for the upcoming school year and this is the perfect time to take advantage of the kitchen. I will be working on my mom’s family recipes this summer and practicing my skills so that by the time fall comes I will be a pro..or at least somewhat of a good cook. My family hardly eats out and is big on nutrition. Having fortifying meals especially during the school year keeps the body nourished and energized during the busy weekdays. As the summer progresses I will share some of the recipes I am working on and how my “first attempts” end up.

Goal number 4: I have really gained a love for running this past year. It is one of my go-to stress relievers and after a long day I get on the treadmill or go outside and feel great afterwards. I get so much energy from it and find that running is a great way to work your heart, strengthen your bones, and help you concentrate and be more productive. I want to run a race this summer..not sure which one yet, but I want to challenge myself a step further in my running regime.

Goal number 5: Tackling the clothes overload in my life! I am the kind of girl who spends what she earns..and mostly on clothes. I have so many clothes between the dorm and home that it has become overwhelming. I plan on doing a major intervention in my room and giving away all that I do not wear. That is going to be hard for me though…I cannot help but think that there will eventually come a time I can wear something– so everything should be kept. I tried to begin today, but just felt like I could not give anything away. This will take some confidence and letting go, but I will feel so much better when this project is done.

Summer is the perfect time to set goals. There is a wide amount of time to dedicate yourself and work towards an accomplishment. If I reach all five of my goals, look how much I will accomplish this summer!! Just think how much you can do, or are already doing and where you will be by the end of the summer. I challenge everyone to set at least one goal to accomplish by the end of the summer, you will be amazed at what you can set your mind to and achieve. All you have to do is want it and stay focused, besides isn’t setting goals kind of fun?

Comment and let me know what your goals may be this summer. I plan on sharing feedback of how I am doing and would like to support you in your ambition.

Never lose sight...

Never lose sight…

P.S. I recently got hooked on the hit series Scandal and would like to finish season 1 and 2 in the next few weeks.

If-you-want-to-live-a-happy-life-tie-it-to-a-goal.-Not-to-people-or-things-Albert-Einstein

This entry was posted in Goals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

