One Celebration, Four Occasions!

Happy Father’s Day to all of the amazing dads out there! As if the week back from the Philippines could not get any crazier, today we celebrated one huge family celebration at my house. My family hosted Father’s Day for both sides of the family, my brother’s eight grade graduation, and two birthdays for my cousin Alainey and Grandma Barbie who both have birthdays at the beginning of June. Everyone has busy schedules these days and it is hard to set dates that work for everyone–so why not have one huge party? After all, there is so much to celebrate and be thankful for.

My dad and I!

My dad and I!

Image

So much to celebrate!

I got to see my extended family for the first time since Mother’s Day and have missed them so much. It is always rewarding to visit with aunts, uncles, cousins, and grandparents to share what I have been up to and see how they have been spending their last few weeks. This is quality family time and when memories are made that will last a lifetime. I will never forget my parents running around the house this morning to get ready for the guests and wanting everything to be perfect…but Siena our dog always gets into trouble or comes into the house with wet paws after it rains, driving my mom a little crazy. I love the smell of the kitchen and backyard when my dad is cooking on the grill or when my Aunt Karen is telling funny stories about my little cousins and their innocent nature.

Image

Father’s Day Cake Balls dessert, Cookie Cake for Will, and homemade chocolates from my Aunt Sue’s candy store. I had to have a taste of everything!

Image

Delicious Cold Stone birthday cake to celebrate Alainey and Grandma Barbie!

Makipagkapwa is one of the five Filipino traits that the people of the Philippines embody. It means that the people have a shared sense of identity and see themselves as part of the group, especially the family. Family is everything to me; it is the backbone that holds individuals together. I am grateful for my family and all that they provide for me. The people that surround me in my family are my role models and push me to be a better version of myself each and every day. They are the people I cannot live without and even being gone for three weeks, I could not wait to tell them about my amazing experience. I am surrounded by unconditional love and a life of laughter and happiness. Today was more than a celebration about Father’s Day, graduation, and birthdays…it was a reminder that my family is one of unity, reliance, and above all love.

Image

Image

Beautiful sunset to end this wonderful day…

 

Once all the guests left, my dad opened up his presents from the family. I even handed out the gifts I got everyone from my trip to the Philippines.

Image

T-shirt with a jeepney on it. Jeepneys are modes of public transportation, but have no set routes. The vehicles were originally made from US military jeeps left over from WWII. The jeepneys are known for their elaborate decorations (a symbol in Filipino culture) and no two are the same.

Image

These are fresh water pearls that I found from a local market. There were so many different styles to choose from, but I like to stick to the classic.

Image

A pair of tribal stylish shorts that were a deal at one of the clothing booths in the local market.

Image

This gorgeous piece was in the culture section of the local market. The Philippines is known to be God ridden and this picture caught my eye amongst the plethora of religious items.

Image

This bag is from the store Human Nature, which is a branch from Gawad Kalinga, which works to build communities and lift the Filipino people from poverty. The store employes Gawad Kalinga residents to make certain products such as silk-screened shirts and eco bags to earn a wage and be empowered to grow as leaders inside their communities.

Image

A silk-screened t-shirt made by the Blue Eagle Village.

Image

Human Nature store located in Manila.

Image

The Gawad Kalinga sign for the community we visited- Blue Eagle Village.

This entry was posted in Summer 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Celebration, Four Occasions!

  1. holbrooe says:

    I love how you connect the celebration to your trip!

Leave a Reply

