First WIAW!

I am participating in my first ever WIAW! So here it goes..I have been on quite a health kick lately and missing fresh foods since being away in the Philippines. Cheers to sharing pictures of some of the delicious foods I have been enjoying at home 🙂

Image

breakfast

steal cut oats with bananas and peanut butter

Imagelunch

greek yogurt mixed with rice chex, strawberries, and topped with cinnamon and walnuts

Image

lunch round 2

lean roasted turkey, carrots, mini cucumber slices, broccoli, cheese and hummus

Imagesnacks

I love my fruits and veggies–mini cucumber, orange slices, raspberries, and blueberries

Imagedinner

dinner at Zoe’s after leaving Will at his eighth grade dance– lentil soup and chicken souvlaki salad (lettuce, grilled chicken, feta, olives, tomatoes, and onion)

I even have some left overs for tomorrow’s lunch because the salad was sooo big!

wiaw sensible snacking button

dessert!

I love to bake and decided to make Will a special treat on his graduation day! Here are some congo bars (chocolate chip cookies baked in a cupcake pan) with tapioca frosting topped with m&m’s and blueberries. I honestly deviated from the original recipe because I did not have all the original ingredients. So I used what I had inside the house to improvise, here is the recipe below…

Image

Ingredients

Congo Bars

1/2 cup salted butter

1/4 sugar

1/4 brown sugar

1 egg

3/4 cup of semi sweet morsels

1/2TSP baking soda

1/2TSP strawberry extract

1cup flour

Preheat oven to 375F. Cream together butter, sugar, eggs, soda, and strawberry extract. Mix in remaining ingredients. Drop by teaspoon into greased cupcake pan. Bake 12-15 minutes or until lightly brown.

IMG_4788

IMG_4789

Tapioca Frosting

1 egg white

3 TBS sugar, divided

3TBS MINUTE Tapioca

1cup milk

1 egg yolk

1TSP vanilla extract

Beat egg white in small bowl with electric mixer on high speed until foamy. Gradually add 1/2 the sugar, beating until soft peaks form. Mix tapioca, remaining sugar, vanilla extract, milk, and egg yolk in medium saucepan. Let stand 5 minutes. Stirring constantly, cook on medium heat until mixture comes to FULL boil. Remove from heat. Quickly stir in egg white mixture into hot tapioca in saucepan until well blended. Cool 2o minutes; stir. Serve warm or chilled.

IMG_4792

I placed the congo bars on a plate, added some strawberries, and then frosted the bars just before serving. Blueberries are the perfect accessory on top along with some M&M’s (my brother’s favorite). Ready to be served! The leftover tapioca can be chilled in the fridge and served with fruit to make another sweet dessert.

Image

ImageThe dessert turned out really well (luck maybe..or I might have a talent for this?!) and I cannot wait to see what I may bake up next.

Stay tuned–Tomorrow I will be posting about what I wore tonight at my brother’s graduation and where I got a great deal on this dress along with some makeup details.

IMG_4810

Gabi

P.S. Please feel free to print and try this sweet treat! :)

This entry was posted in Summer 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

