WIAW and WIWW: Delicious Food and Basic Travel Items

Yes!! It is Wednesday and if you are like me, you must all be itching to get to Friday to enjoy this summer weather :).

I’m not going to lie, I have been quite busy this week with work and my own schedule of things that I find myself to be exhausted at night wondering to myself– “am I on summer break?” But in all honesty summer is no longer meant to just lounge around when you are a college student and watch Netflix, it is “prime” time to make some extra dough while enjoying family, friends, and summer festivites. Sometimes it can be a struggle to get through the week and days seem long and hot. So to cheer up your day and take you one step closer to the weekend look no further, but set feast your eyes upon these next few pictures of delicious meals I have made throughout the week. Learning how to cook some great meals that I can establish in my own regimen during the school year is another one of my summer goals and I am on to a good start. So without further adieu..WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday)

Image

First up…breakfast!

Image

-delicious old fashioned oats with almond milk, pea butter (not peanut butter), blueberries, bananas, cinnamon, and almonds

Image

-green smoothie from my friend Kaila (with chocolate whey protein) with cheerios, oats, raisin brand, and cashews

Image

-the classic cereal (Corn Chex) with bananas, almond milk, and sliced almonds

Lunch on the go anyone??

Image

this was quick and easy to pack on the go for work

-tuna mixed with mayo, onions, celery, raisins, and dried cranberries

Image

this dish can be used as a side or as a meal that stands alone

-Greek Couscous Salad (recipe to come tomorrow!)

Snacks!!

Image

-Larabar and banana on the go!!

Image

-rice cake, pea butter, and banana

Image

-mango, blueberries, raspberries, blackberries, a dollop of greek yogurt, and topped with sprinkles on almond slivers

Image

-leftover Tapioca from this recipe to mix with greek yogurt, raspberries, and blueberries

Dinner..is served 🙂

Image

-hamburgers on the grill, corn on the cob, and avocado toss salad (recipe to come!)

Image

-chicken on the grill, steamed broccoli (mmm), and avocado toss salad

Image

-sautéed veggies and grilled shrimp mixed with spinach, black beans, and chickpeas

Okay, is your mouth watering?? Wednesday might just be my favorite day because I get to review all the delicious dishes I have made this past week..haha!!

What are some of your on-the-go meals during the week?

Do you have any summer favorites??

Okay, now that I have pulled myself back from foodtopia…..

Ready for round two of Wednesday’s dose of medicine??

It’s WIWW (What I Wore Wednesday)

It began last week with details about my look from head to toe including hair and makeup, but this week I am taking a different perspective. This is What I Wore- Travel Style. I’m giving you the details of what products I simply could not live without while on my trip abroad. In summary, I found it was best to go back to the basics.

Before I go any further into details it is always important to stay hydrated and drink a lot of H2O, especially during the hot summer! When in the Philippines it is not only hot, but you cannot do anything to stop the sweat so you mind as well embrace it. BUT because you are always sweating (or glistening for a sweeter term) you need to drink lots of water (those who know me know I drink LOTS of water) to “try” to stay cool, but most of all replenish the constant loss of fluids that you end up submerged in.

  • #1- Jergens Ultra Healing Moisturizer

It is simple and easy….Just as water is important for a healthy body, moisturizer is important for healthy skin. Jergens is a favorite that I have used since going away to college. Although I am a little biased :), any moisturizer works..just do it!

  • #2- Vaseline

I have found that this product works well in all sorts of ways- I like to call it the “do-it-all jar.” So do not go on a trip without your “do-it-all jar.” You can place vaseline on burns, sunburn, dry elbows and knees, even use it as makeup remover. What did I use it for? I used it as a lip balm. If my lips were dry or I felt like I needed some sort of “gloss” because makeup was a no-go.

  • #3- Hair ties

You know what I’m talking about no matter what you may call them–hair elastics, ponytail holders, hair scrunchies, hair bands–bottom line…always an essential. Not only do I bring them when I travel, but I also have some handy on a daily basis. Even when one is in my hair, another is on my wrist. I do not know if I am the only one, but because I always seem to be losing (more like misplacing) them, I find you can never have enough. I even used hair ties in my bag when we traveled to hold hair clips or keep pens and pencils together.

  • #4- Toilet paper (this one is specifically directed towards my trip)

You would never think, but it important to be prepared. I was NOT prepared at first when arriving in the Philippines and quickly found out that they do not use toilet paper. After a quick trip to the money exchange and grocery store, that unfamiliar problem was solved. No matter what you may be expecting, I have found that it is important wherever you go to be prepared. Especially during long or far travel, it never hurts to have some hand sanitizer and t.p. on hand.

For those of you who are wondering if I wore any makeup–I put it on the first few days, but because it would sweat off I decided it was best to go without. I washed my face well in the morning and at night, and had some face wipes during the day to stay fresh. It is all about going back to the basics…

What items do you find are essential when going on a trip?

Recipes to come tomorrow!

Gabi

This entry was posted in Summer 2013, WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WIAW and WIWW: Delicious Food and Basic Travel Items

  1. Everything looks delicious! Thanks for the shout out! What is this pea butter?! Sounds interesting! Did you make it yourself!?

    • gabiwalter says:

      Thanks Kaila!- I thought I would give one of your recipes a try. Pea butter is a product I found in the Nature’s Market section of Wegmans- I thought I would try it as a peanut butter substitute, and it’s actually pretty good. My next endeavour is to try pistachio butter 🙂

Leave a Reply

