DIY: Polka Dot Pants

Hi Everyone! Although I am not the artist in the family, I did get my Picasso on last night during the thunder storm. What else is there to do when the power seems to be going in and out and there is no wifi in the house? 😉 So I decided to set up shop in the basement and paint.

I am sure you all have heard of Pinterest (to view my page click here). The site that allows you to create boards and pin your favorite items to each? From food to style, Pinterest has it all. That is where I first found out about DIY (Do It Yourself) and saw all of the creative things people were making. I decided to conduct my own experiment and join the DIY community.

Image

Courtesy of Google Images

Step 1What to create? I have some plain black pants that have been sitting in my closet for a while and I decided I wanted to dress them up. I love the classic black and white combo and wanted to add polka dots to dress up the pants a little. Now..what will I need?

Step 2Michaels endeavour. I took a trip to the local arts and crafts store, Michaels, to find what I would need to dress up my pants. I was able to find white fabric paint and circular sponges for the dots. Check!

  •  ruler
  • fabric paint
  • sponges
  • pants (of course)

Image

Step 3Paint! Now before jumping into in and placing dots all over my pants I wanted to have a plan. I started with the big dot sponge and decided to space out the dots with the help of my ruler. Before I knew it I was on a roll…just like the rumbling storm outside. Since the pack of sponges came with two sizes of sponges, I deiced I would do the other leg with the smaller circles.

Image

Time for the back..I mimicked the same pattern, but added a little design to the pockets.

TadahComplete! Not bad for a first timer, right?!

Image

Front View

Image

Back View

Image

I enjoyed my first DIY craft and cannot wait to get some more ideas. I eventually want to work my way up to creating my own furniture for a room….but I better not get ahead of myself. 🙂

Playing model in the backyard with my re-designed pants!

Let’s talk–

Have you recently done any DIY projects? I would love to hear about them! Please share!

Do you have a Pinterest account? Let’s connect!

Enjoy the sunshine,

Gabi

This entry was posted in DIY, Summer 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

