WIAW: Summer Treats {aka Make Your Own Deliciousness}

WIAW#5

Hi Everyone! Can you believe it outside? Where did the humidity go? I actually grabbed a sweater on my way out :/ guilty…

As you know, it may just be my favorite days of the week because I get to celebrate food with a bunch of other bloggers. Plus you get to exchange recipes with everyone and try out new meals…basically its a win-win. BUT I decided to change it up this WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) and instead of focusing on some of the meals I have had this past week, I am going to be focusing on some of the delicious treats I have been making. Most importantly ones that have been “cooling” down my summer! I have the recipes here too for you to try 🙂 As always, thanks for hosting Jen!

Image

This first one was an attempt that I got from Pinterest. I decided to pick some flowers from my yard and place them in ice containers to have some decorative ice in drinks, but I think the flowers needed to be a bit more colorful. This was not a project that I necessarily thought turned out the best…take a look.

Image

This next snack I found to be perfect for on the go our even for a meal in the morning. This is my peanut butter (I use pea butter), banana, granola, and raisins wrap on a wheat shell. Place the wheat shells in the fridge and the bananas before preparing so that it is a chilled treat. When you are ready to prepare, spread the peanut butter over the entire shell, slice up bananas and place on one half with granola and raisins (any amount you choose). Finally fold it up, slice on a diagonal, and…ta-dah! Delicioso 🙂

Image

The third treat was my favorite this week–frozen yogurt pops. Oh YES, something you can make yourself right in your own kitchen!

Image

In a blender mix:

  • one cup of yogurt (your choice- I used Greek yogurt)
  • one cup of milk (I used almond milk)
  • slice up half of a banana (large)
  • a handful of fresh strawberries

if desired add–

  • tablespoon of peanut butter powder (you know my enjoyment addiction!)
  • teaspoon of cocoa powder
  • dash of honey

Blend the above ingredients into a creamy mixture and pour into popsicle containers.

Freeze and enjoy!

Image

This is the perfect summer treat to prepare when having friends over by the pool! 😉

I will finish with some other pictures of delicious things I have had this week…

IMG_5438

Chicken on the grill with steamed broccoli, tomato, and potatoes

IMG_5443

Lunch platter- Turkey sandwich on Cranberry bread with veggies, fruit, crackers, and hummus

Let’s talk–

Do you have some favorite summer treats to keep you cool in this heat? Share them with me!

Want to know what WIAW is all about? Click the link and join the fun!

Click on the WIAW tab on the right hand side bar to read some of my past WIAW posts!

Finally I will leave you with a quote to enjoy this blessed Wednesday…

Image

Gabi

This entry was posted in WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

