Hair Can Make A Difference

As summer is coming to an end I have decided I want to give back in some way. So much of our lives we focus on furthering ourselves and our love ones around us, but what about the people we do not know? I want to help a stranger in need. As with my many summer chores, a hair cut has been on the list. Today instead of going to the salon and getting a trim to keep growing out my long hair like I have been for the past few years, I have decided to donate it. The idea came to mind a few weeks ago when I was thinking about how I wanted to end my summer, and I thought this would be a perfect way.  December of my sophomore year of high school (just before Christmas) I donated my hair to Locks of Love and this year I wanted to change it up a bit and help another charity. It feels good to be doing this a second time, especially when I know what I am doing is for a good cause.

Image

My hair will be going to Pantene Beautiful Lengths, which is a partnership between Pantene and the American Cancer Society. Pantene donates free real-hair wigs to the American Cancer, which then distributes them to cancer patients through its wig bank.  Beautiful Length’s focus is for women to look and feel healthy. It is hard for women to look in the mirror and feel like themselves when their hair is falling out. Beautiful Lengths gives them the opportunity to feel like themselves once again.

Image

Image

My favorite line when reading about Beautiful Lengths is that the charity states, “To us, it’s hair, but to women with cancer, it’s hope.” Hair is hair for many of us and it will grow back. To some women it means getting back something they have lost in an even bigger battle they still are fighting; like a knight gaining back his shield to feel strong again when out in battle. When women with cancer get a chance to have hair, it empowers them and gives them a shield of strength to continue the fight—their guard is not down yet.

I walked away with not only a great new dou, but also an inner glow. It is amazing the feeling you get when helping those in need. Who knew hair could make such a difference?

Image

Image

Image

Let’s talk–

 Have you ever donated your hair? Tell me your story!

What have you done this summer to help others in need? Share it with me!

XO, Gabi 

This entry was posted in Change the World and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

