WIAW- Moving in, Orientation, and Goal #3 Learning to Cook

THIS is WIAW #8!

WIAWbutton

Oh my gosh!! It’s here—TODAY IS THE FIRST DAY OF ORIENTATION TRAINING…and it’s Wednesday 🙂

It took spackling, fixing a hole in the ceiling, pulling out staples and tape from the wall, priming, painting and 3 cars full–and a trailer to move me in. Yes! Moving is a huge project, HUGE! Just thinking of all that my family did makes me tired. I still have to finish unpacking and organizing all my things. Did I even mention decorating? That is my favorite part and unfortunately cannot happen until last when everything else is set. When my room is finished I will be sure to give you guys a look at the result of all the hard work that was put into this room. Now that I think about it, I should have taken a before picture. This project was literally HGTV Walter family style.

Besides unpacking, my last day of summer was spent getting organized for these next two weeks of training and time with the freshmen when they arrive on campus. Last year being an orientation leader for freshmen orientation was one of the highlights of my summer because not only did I get to pump up the freshmen for college and a whole new four year journey, but also I made amazing friends with my fellow OL’s (Orientation Leaders) and felt like I really was a part of something special here at Canisius. It is going to be an EXHAUSTING journey, but sooo soo soo worth it! I will be keeping you guys updated on all the fun 🙂

Image

So back to celebrating all the things we love about food on this beautiful Wednesday. One of my goals this summer was to learn how to cook. Some of the pictures amongst my plethora of good eats are some of those meals. Since I am now moved into my new apartment with friends, I am going see how I do all by myself without my parents help. As the semester goes on and I make some meals I will be sure to share recipes and let you in on my successes and even first time failures…I do not think I have ever been this excited to cook….and having good company is a plus too. Click here for more details on WIAW is all about–celebrating the fact that we all love to eat! Thanks for hosting, Jenn!

Time to take a look—

breakfast

Image[oatmeal, almond slivers, berries, bananas, almond milk, homemade sunbutter]

Image

[loaded bowl of Chex, greek yogurt, almond milk, berries, almond slivers and pecans]

Image[egg scramble with turkey, broccoli, red pepper and salsa plus a side of fruit]

snacks

Image[strawberries–these ones were SO sweet :)]

Image[orange–always delicious]

lunch

Image

[turkey sandwich on an english muffin, fruit, sugar snap peas, cheese, and triscuits]

Image[who said you could not have cereal for lunch?? Another loaded bowl with pea butter]

Image[first lunch made at the new apartment-salad with the works]

dinner

Image[steak on the grill with potatoes, corn, sweet pickles, and caprese salad]

Image[rotisserie chicken with steamed broccoli and couscous]

Image[chicken kabob on the grill with corn , caprese salad, and quiona]

Image[first dinner made at the apartment!!-Successs;)

veggie burger, sweet potato, and steamed broccoli]

In other news, I also made my own DIY wall art for my room and am excited for some other projects on my list. What do you think? Not bad for an amateur artist.

Image

I even took my first run at my new home for this upcoming school year through the local village and am so excited to map out some new routes [and take lots of pictures]. I really liked watching people out walking their dogs, listening to music in the park, having dinner outside on the patios of restaurants, and above all enjoying their summer night in the neighborhood.

Image

Let’s talk–-

Do you have any quick and easy dinner [or any] recipes to share with this college student? Please do!

Want to find out more? Head to Peas and Crayons to check out how others are celebrating this What I Ate Wednesday!

As always you can click the WIAW Category on the right hand sidebar to explore some of my previous WIAW posts!

Off to begin the day!!!

XO, Gabi

This entry was posted in Goals, WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

