Orientation Training- Day 2

Day 2–still as much energy as day one! I hope I can keep this up 😉

Image

Delicious and nutritious morning breakfast! Yumm 🙂

The morning began with a reflection about what we as individuals can do to change the world. “To change the world you don’t have to do everything, but you have to do something.” Here is what I wrote on my globe in response to what I will do..

Image

One of my favorite presentations of the day was about making the most out of our time as OLs.  As much as orientation is about the freshmen, it is also about ourselves (the OLs) and making sure we are our best selves. We can do that by drinking plenty of water, getting rest, having nutritious meals, and being on schedule. It is when we are our best selves that we can be a reliable resource for the freshmen coming into college. Not only is it important to be knowledgeable about the campus, but also about our roles amongst the other orientation leaders and in our small groups with the freshmen. Sometimes we will need to be energetic and take control, and other times we will need to be laid back and observant. Most importantly this job is about having fun and enjoying the moment. It is important to not get caught up in sweat the small things. This is a great time without the stress of classes to enjoy time with fellow students.

Some more serious presentations of the day were QPR Suicide Prevention, Sexual Assault/Bystander Effect, and Alcohol awareness which all had us reflecting on our roles and what we can do if anyone ever came to us in a time of need. It is important to know how to help others in difficult situations and I am so fortunate to have had the training and knowledge about resources for where to get help if I ever end up in that sort of situation.

My favorite part of the night though was being able to hang out with my fellow OLs and create clipboards for orientation next week. The clipboards will become our go-to tool next week and will have our detailed schedules and serve as a sign for freshmen to look for when we meet in small groups. This is how mine turned out…

Image

My roommates and I even found time to have some fun while cleaning up. I love these girls and have known them since freshmen year. I feel like junior year came within the blink of an eye, but we have known each other for years. Does anyone else feel that way with some of their closest friends? I could go on for days, but these girls (pictured with me are a few of the small bunch) are my life and I cannot imagine a day without them. They keep me sane in all of my school work and extracurricular that I overload myself with.

Image

When I got back to the house it was nice to get ready for the next day of training, wash up, and catch up with the girls on how their summer has been. Not to mention nod off a little bit here and there from a draining day.

Welp, I’m off to bed! Sleep these next two weeks is going to be critical. I know I will soon become desperate and be taking naps anywhere I can (tables, floors, OL Central).

Did you miss the recap of Day 1? Click here

XO, Gabi

This entry was posted in Summer 2013 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

