WIAW: Weekly Update and Good Eats

This is WIAW…#10

Hi Everyone! Well…I survived. Back to school week one for me is done and week two is underway. I am liking all of my classes so far and do not want to make a prediction too soon, but I think it is going to be a great semester. I have been keeping a tight schedule between classes, extracurriculars, and exercising, which tires me out once 10:30/11pm rolls around. I guess that is what happens when you are up at 6:30 every morning!

For the long weekend I was able to go home and visit my family. We went to our cottage one last time for the summer with our aunts, uncles, cousins, and grandparents. It is nice to have the family all together one last time before school gets crazy and all of our schedules pick up. We were able to go water skiing, tubing, boating, and swimming. My family also has A TON of August and September birthdays so this past weekend we had a huge celebration. It was such a tease back to summer though and at the end of the tiring weekend I had to hop right back into school. I am so grateful to have a wonderful family and I am glad I got to see them if even for a couple of days. Not to mention my grandmother is the best cook ever (besides my mom of course)!

Image

My cousins and uncles also saved a seagull who was on the shore with fish hooks in its wings and mouth. They were able to remove them and send the bird back into the water, but it seemed to be in such shock that it floated for quite a while. Here and there the bird would test its wings, but I think that the poor thing had not eaten for some time and just needed some energy. Hopefully the bird is okay! I am not a huge fan of seagulls AT ALL, but I felt bad for this little guy. 😦

Image

To fuel my running enjoyment as Fall rolls around, my friend and I have registered for a Zombie Mud Run that is coming to town. It is a 5K with 13 obstacles and zombies chase you throughout the course as you try to save your three life lines. Sounds like fun, right? I am excited to overcome difficult obstacles while testing my speed and agility.

Image

Is anyone ready for some hot apple cider? As the days move closer and closer to Fall (my favorite season) my to do list grows. I enjoy a lot of the activities that come with Fall– apple picking, baking pies, hay rides, carving pumpkins, corn mazes, haunted houses, sweaters, boots, scarves, and delicious food. As the season approaches and all through out I will be sharing recipes, DIY activities, and more.

Image

Whew! So that is the update and it’s WEDNESDAY! So let’s check out some of the food I have been whipping up this past week 🙂 Shout out to Jenn as always for hosting! Thanks Jenn!!

Image

Breakfast

Image

 Chex, almond milk, strawberries, blueberries, walnuts, flax seed, and whey protein powder

Image

English muffin with homemade sun butter

Image

Chex covered in Greek yogurt with strawberries and topped with almond slices

Lunch

Image

Salad with veggies, chickpeas, cheese, and topped with salsa

Snacks

Image

Cup of hot tea with kettle corn and triscuits

Image

Yogurt with fruit and nuts

Image

 Wheat crackers with sliced cheese cubes

Image

 Bowl of cantaloupe (enough said)

Image

 Pop secret 100 calorie Kettle Corn popcorn

Dinner

Image Chicken tortilla soup (went out for a friends birthday)

Image

 Turkey burger with a bowl of fruit at dinner (for a friends birthday)

Image

 Side dish of steamed green beans

Image

 Home cooked meal of pork tenderloin, rice, caprese salad, and corn

Image

 Grandma’s delicious pasts with salad

Let’s Talk–

What did you do to celebrate Labor Day weekend?

Want to find out more? Head to Peas and Crayons to check out how others are celebrating this What I Ate Wednesday!

As always you can click the WIAW Category on the right hand sidebar to explore some of my previous WIAW posts!

Here is some middle of the week inspiration!

d1b1cadbaa64fcfb1a1f0a0968027d04

Gabi, XO

 

This entry was posted in WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

