Saying “NO” to New Year’s Resolutions

It’s only the fourth day into the new year, a new beginning for many people to start fresh in different parts of their lives. From losing weight to saving money, people are starting off the year making New Year’s resolutions. I had a list of my own going  just after Christmas of things I wanted to change and improve in my life. What is the biggest issue?! People just weeks into the new year struggle to keep those resolutions, which are often due to lack of motivation or unrealistic expectations. So why do we make them in the first place? And shouldn’t these goals be things we are thinking about all throughout the whole year, not just at the beginning?!

The beginning of the new year is a literal beginning, but the beginning of working towards an accomplishment can begin at any time. The focus should not be on RESOLUTIONS, but rather a focus on RES–>REAL SOLUTIONS, the ability to make a lasting change. I had a list going of resolutions for myself from blogging on a more regular basis, to running a half marathon, to working my butt off for a specific LSAT score. As I was writing all this down though, the perfectionist in me saw how confined we as human beings, including myself, often hold ourselves. Maybe if we take life day by day we will be more willing to push ourselves rather than hold ourselves to our own specific standards (resolutions) and get discouraged when we fall short (stray off task).

Image

Screen Shot 2014-01-04 at 9.54.48 PM

So that is my new year’s resolution, to not have any 🙂 haha.. I am looking to take each day as it comes, and be open to change and obstacles that may come my way. Most of all though, this year I want to be fearless (my word of the year)!

Fearless..Bold..Daring..Courageous towards anyone, anything, and any situation. I believe that it is often fear that holds us back from our full potentials. So what are you looking to change or improve about yourself this new year?! If you are not one to make resolutions, what do you hope happens in the new year? I think we all have hopes and dreams for a year of health, happiness, and success. As a quote fanatic I just HAVE to leave you with some motivational quotes…

Image

Image

LOVE THIS SCOND ONE!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

P.S. Did you check out my 2013 year in review? If not click here, there is a message for all of us to reflect on this holiday season. You won’t regret it 🙂

XOXO, Gabi

This entry was posted in 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saying “NO” to New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Tan says:

    Hmm, not sure if I agree that we “confine” ourselves. Some people may but certainly not everyone.

    Some people use resolutions as a guideline rather than a specific goal to accomplish something. I feel like humans get lost sometimes in this place called life and sometimes we need help to get back on track. Being fearless… That’s something you develop along the way.

    • gabiwalter says:

      Thanks for sharing, Tan! I agree that that resolutions can be a good way for people to gain focus on something for the year. Maybe it is just me and a few others (perfectionists) who feel confined to the standards we set. Being fearless..that is something I’m looking to develop within myself this year.

Leave a Reply

