Nothing Lasts Forever <—>Forever Never Lasts

You know the saying “Nothing lasts forever?” Well, what if I switched it to say “forever never lasts?” You see, this world we live in is not ruled by people or ideas, but rather a silent, forever moving controller…time. We as humans are ruled by the clock. From wishing we had more than 24 hours in a day to do all that we need to, to watching years flash before our eyes and simply saying “life happened.”

With time comes its brother, change; nothing is ever constant and what was will never exactly be again. Forever never lasts because although we may think we have all the time in the world, we do not.

Forever will soon diminish into never, and opportunities can be gone. The opportunity to make a change is no longer there and sometimes can have the result of regret.

So what am I trying to say in this rant? It is that you should not wait for opportunities to come to you in your life because time will run out. You shouldn’t be afraid of change because sooner or later it will take advantage of you. TIme is always moving and what weeks ago felt like I had FOREVER all winter break to relax and do what I want; well..it flashed before my eyes and school is here again.

Like I said in my year of review post, this year I am going to really focus on the ‘present’ the ‘journey’, not the destination. In order to do that, I cannot get caught up in time and let it rule me by worrying “What comes next”, or “Am I on schedule because time is running out!”

Time will be there for forever and yes it goes by FAST. When you see it in a different light; when you see time as all we have right now, and you put the most you have in each day and every moment, it will not matter that forever never lasts because you are happy with what happened in that moment as it soon becomes a memory of the past.

I don’t yet know what to expect for this upcoming semester because to be honest, once I get into a routine I struggle with change. Especially now that I am in vacation mode and transitioning and preparing myself for next week, it is going to take a couple of days to adjust. So if you’re like me and feel the same way, do not be worried about the upcoming change.

Yesterday a few orientation leaders and I helped new freshmen, transfer, and international students become oriented with Canisius and all the school has to offer. They are going through a period of change in their lives and taking action to create opportunities that will be beneficial for them and their career. Maybe their other schools were not a good fit, or they are looking to be somewhere closer to home, or Canisius is the next challenge? No matter what the reason, they are not letting time get to them or opportunities for change pass them by. They are in control of their future and although many of us (even myself) do not know exactly where we are headed, we are taking the journey one step at a time.

Be in control of the change {good change by the way} for just another segment of opporutnities this year. So get EXCITED, SMILE, and do not forget to be in the PRESENT moment of good or bad. Nothing lasts forever, but in that present moment make it worth something–a lesson- a tool- a strength for yourself…. to conquer the change ahead.

Image

Image

Share with me–

Are you a person of routine?

How do you adjust to a change in schedule?

Do you plan on focusing on the ‘present moment’ more this year?

XOXO, Gabi

This entry was posted in 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

