WIAW: Starting Off Spring Semester

This is WIAW…#11!

It’s WEDNESDAY, and thank goodness for a short week! I love my free time on the weekends 🙂 Back on the blogging track and up to date with my WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) posts. I have not posted a WIAW since the beginning of the fall semester! Time got away from me and I lost discipline to really plan out delicious meals. Being in college and having a full time schedule creates some obstacles for meal times. I fell victim to my meal plan and just grabbed pre-made salads, wraps, or got subs on the go. As always, and forever one of my favorites, the quick cereal with fruit and nuts and yogurt were a daily go-to.

Image[This is a pic I took last week on one of my adventure runs. I’ve been keeping up with my running when the temps and snow allow. I cannot wait for spring! I am craving to get outside every day, and lately it has been quite cold (single digits)!!]

Well, this semester I have already planned for it to be different. Ever heard of meal preparing (I’m sure you can guess what it is)? It is where you plan all your meals for the week and prepare ahead of time. I think that by doing this each weekend I am set to eat healthy and delicious meals in between classes, homework, social events, and workout schedules. I already did some preparing this past weekend and I am not going to lie, it did take some time. You have to pick out meals, shop for the ingredients, and even pre-prep some of the ingredients (like cooking quiona ahead of time). Hopefully though, that time I spent preparing is the time I will be saving if I had to make a whole meal on a designated night.

Image

This preparation also keeps me away from the school food and more on the track of what I normally eat at home with my family. I have to say though mom, my recipes will never be as good as yours 😉 I will take your cooking over mine any day! BUT what I am making is pretty delicious; I am forcing encouraging my roommates to try my treats and meals and give me feedback haha..

Image[What they are eating will be revealed next week! Thanks girls for letting me get pics:)]

So let’s get to the meat of this post— the delicious eats of the past week. Thanks as always to Jenn for hosting! Check out her page–> here!

Image

Breakfast

Image[Grapefruit, with a protein pancake topped with whey protein powder cinnamon, and more fruit]

Image [Breakfast before the gym- protein bar, fruit, and an egg topped with pepper]

Image[This was my first attempt at a power flatbread and it was DELICIOUS (like a huge healthy pancake)! Recipe link coming up later this week!]

Lunch

Image[Wegman’s sushi surrounded by fruit]

Image[Turkey sandwich with red pepper, cucumber, and a clementine]

Image[Salad with meatloaf, tomatoes, swiss cheese, almonds, tuscan beans, red pepper, green pepper, and clementines]

Image

[Turkey wrap with watermelon, snap peas, crackers, and cheese]

Snacks

Image[Fruit and yogurt]

Image[As mentioned above, this is the daily yogurt, fruits, and nuts]

Image[Midday pick-me-up with craisins, nuts, and sesame sticks]

Image[Apple and a rice cake topped with peanut butter]

Dinner

Image[Homemade lasagna (thanks mom!) with whole wheat pasta sheets]

Image[Pork tenderloin with roasted potatoes and steamed broccoli]

Image[Whole wheat, homemade stuffed shells]

Image[Turkey salad with tuscan beans, mushrooms, red pepper, green pepper, cheese, croutons, snap peas, romaine, tuscan beans, tomatoes..did I get it all?..basically a loaded salad, YUMM!]

Next week you will see all the meals I am making this week with the food preparation I did over the weekend. I cannot wait to tell you all how it went and give some recommendation and tips on how to make your week of meals successful. I hope to cut down on my preparation time and I know that as I make a list of favorite meals, I will have the ingredients and recipes on hand.

Let’s Talk–

Interested in something that you see? Let me know and I will share the recipe. OR have a delicious and healthy meal that you love? Share it with me. During the winter I am always looking for some good soups! And lately I have been craving some tacos. Well, no need to go on…enjoy the rest of your week!

Want to find out more? Head to Peas and Crayons to check out how others are celebrating this What I Ate Wednesday!

As always you can click the WIAW Category on the right hand sidebar to explore some of my previous WIAW posts!

Here’s some middle of the week inspiration for you all 🙂

Image

XOXO, Gabi

This entry was posted in WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

