WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) #15 {Breakfast Recipes}

Happy Monday Wednesday everyone! I know it is Wednesday, but it feels like a Monday to me after being off for a long weekend due to the President’s holiday. A long weekend is great, and the short week that follows is even better. Plus when I am home I am not alone in cooking my meals. My parents are the master chefs and I always love coming home for delicious meals! Here are just some of the things we have been cooking up on this long weekend. Excuse me while I lick my computer screen…AGAIN!
 

Image

Image

Image

Another great thing about a long weekend and short week is that Friday comes around so much quicker!! I always tell myself when I have extra days off that I am going to get ahead on my work, but guess what?? That NEVER happens. I always just use those days to get some extra sleep or get in some extra hours at work. A little bit more spending money is always great because you know this is me each week after grocery shopping haha…

Image

So what is the topic of today you may ask?? Well, I have been given the request to share some of my breakfast meals and how I make them, along with the ingredients and where I shop. A lot of these items that you see in my meals can come from the local grocery store. For those of you who have the pleasure of a Wegmans, that is my go-to! Really though, any local grocery store will work because all of the ingredients are basic items that you should be able to pick up at any nearby market.

Here are three breakfast meals that I love to make during the week, and after reading this you will have everything you need to know to make them too! Thanks Jenn as always for hosting!

Image

NUMBER ONE– This past summer I put up a WIAW post about cereal because I am OBSESSED and could live off of cereal for the rest of my life if all of a sudden it was the only food on the planet. Well maybe not..but I do love cereal! Weird right? for a girl who loves to get creative in the kitchen. Cereal is quick, it’s easy, and allows for so much variety. So first up is my Loaded Cereal Bowl

Image

Image

What you need

– cereal bowl

– box of chex or cheerios

– greek yogurt (any flavor you want)

– your choice of fruit (I usually choose bananas and berries)

– your choice of nuts (I like walnuts or slivered almonds)

– milk (skim or almond milk)

– spoon

How to- Pour the cereal into your cereal bowl and add the greek yogurt over the top. Mix the greek yogurt and cereal together so that everything is covered. Add the desired amount of milk ( my chex or cheerios are usually submerged) and put into the microwave for 40 seconds. Did I mention I like my cereal hot?? Yep, now I just did. If you like it cold, skip the microwave. After, cut up fruit and place over the mixture along with a handful (or more) of nuts. For those who like their cereal warm, put it in the microwave for another 20 seconds 🙂 Finally, for you health nuts like me, take some flax seed and sprinkle over the top with some whey protein powder.

Image

I give you permission to dive in headfirst 😉

I love to make this breakfast just before my morning workout. Whey protein is a fast-absorbing protein which helps provide energy for working muscles, building and repairing muscle, and much more. Flax seed has a lot of health benefits and is primarily known for its Omega-3 essential fatty acids, lignans, and fiber. I purchase my protein powder and flax seed at a local health and organic store. These are just extras I add into my cereal for my own health benefits, but are not required to have a fortifying and nutritious meal.

Image

NUMBER TWOEggs! I usually have egg whites one of the days during the week and add in spinach and tomatoes, or even some turkey! This recipe is quick, easy, and is best with a side of fruit.

Image

Image

What you need

-skillet

-non-stick cooking spray

-egg flipper

-egg whites (I usually just get the wegmans brand)

-tomatoes

-spinach

-fruit of choice

-turkey or ham (optional)

How to- Spray the pan non-stick cooking spray and turn the heat on to medium. Pour in the egg whites and add in desired toppings (tomatoes, peppers, spinach, cheese, turkey, ham, etc..). As you see the bottom thickening, use the egg flipper to combine the mixture and get the rest to cook. It basically will look like scrambled eggs when done, except it will white and mixed with a bunch of ingredients. When it is all done place the mixture onto a plate and enjoy with your desired fruit!

What’s lucky NUMBER THREE..maybe some of you could guess..Overnight Oats! I shared this recipe last week on the blog because I make this meal religiously each week. Click here for the details!

Image

Image

I hope you guys like these options and try them out some time this week or next. If you do, let me know how it goes! OR if you are looking for some more recipes, let me know! I can even share some lunch and dinner options, or things that are easy to food prep over the weekend to make meals easy during the week.

Yesterday I was asked to share the recipe for the lunch photo I put up on Instagram. On my day off I decided to get creative for lunch in the kitchen and just sort of whipped up this delicious recipe. I used what there was on hand left over from some previous nights for dinner. So here is what I used and how I made it 🙂 This is for all of you who requested the recipe!! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! (Can you tell how excited I am with all these !!!!!!) I call this my Lunch Medley

Image

What I used

-carrots

-snap peas

-yellow squash

-diced onion

-garbanzo beans

-rice

-parsley flakes and basil leaves

-spinach

-ground turkey

-sharp cheddar white cheese

How did I make it? First, I cut up all of my veggies and the onion on a cutting board. Then, I sprayed my skillet with non-stick cooking spray and sauteed the veggies, while adding in some of the garbanzo beans and spices. I had ground chicken already in the fridge from Monday night’s dinner so I threw in some of that to add some protein to the meal. Then, I added some leftover rice from Sunday night’s dinner to give it a little more flavoring. Finally, I added a handful of spinach over the top of it and let everything mix together in the skillet until I heard the concoction really sizzle. Once it was done I just poured it onto a plate and graded some sharp white cheddar cheese over the top IMMEDIATELY. The cheese melted right away because the meal was still hot..and within eight minutes….. I was licking the plate clean. NO SHAME!

Time for the mid-week motivation 🙂

Image

Let’s Talk–

Want to find out more? Head to Peas and Crayons to check out how others are celebrating this What I Ate Wednesday!

As always you can click the WIAW Category on the right hand sidebar to explore some of my previous WIAW posts!

XOXO, Gabi

This entry was posted in WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) #15 {Breakfast Recipes}

  1. Pia says:

    Love this post Gabi! I’m a big fan of your cereal bowl- I do the same thing, but without the milk- I call it my yogurt bowl!! Also definitely going to try your lunch medley tomorrow with some leftover carved turkey. Have a great week 🙂

  2. catfoodisgoodforyou says:

    Mmmm melted cheese! I’ll stop drooling 😉 Totally relate on the grocery shop = spent all money phenomenon!

Leave a Reply

