WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) #16 {Smoothie Struggles-HELP!}

Hi everyone! How is your week going?!

Truth be told, the Wednesdays of every week seem to creep up on me so fast! Why can’t Friday always be like this?? Well, anywho I have some important things to share with you readers this Wednesday. Just a side note- it’s almost March! This means that spring is coming!!! I am so excited because I am so over this never ending winter of freezing temps and snow.

So first on the list of things to cover- workouts! What is your go-to workout? Last week I tried a power yoga class for the first time and I was still a bit sore a few days later. Your body gets used to using the same muscles and over time it is important to make your workouts dynamic so that you are working all muscle groups. A lot of people set each day of the week to work a different muscle group in order to increase their overall fitness. This week I have been experimenting by doing a little bit of everything. To highlight one of my workouts this week- a little running, a little weights, a little stretching, a little planks! I’m putting together a list of combination that I think will work the whole body in an hours time. So look out for some workout routines within this next week 🙂

Image

Now as you know, Wednesday is the food party of the week! Thanks, Jenn as always for hosting!! However, this week I am sharing the struggle I have been having in the kitchen. I am not a big smoothie person, but recently I have felt compelled to create my own recipe. Many people whip these drinks up after their workout and are on their way with a snack packed with delicious nutrients.

Image

On Friday I decided I wanted to come up with my own recipe and began experimenting in the kitchen. I am the type of person that can come up with some great combinations in the kitchen when cooking. I can turn a mixture of leftovers into a brand new meal, or take the miscellaneous items in the fridge and whip up a mouthwatering masterpiece.

Image[Friday’s first attempt- almond milk, oats, chia seeds, protein powder, almond extract, cinnamon, banana]

To be honest….I am finding I cannot make a good smoothie. It should be something so simple with a variety of combinations and different foods, but I just can’t get it right!

Image[Saturday- berries galore (strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, black berries), skim milk, spinach, flax seed]

I’m in some sort of experimental funk, or…I just can’t make a smoothie to save my life (honestly going with the second :/). I’ve had my roommates try a few combinations by now, and just when I thought my most recent one was the best yet and somewhat delicious, I was told it was worse than the first. Everyone has different tastes right? I mean I thought that last one was pretty good? I’ve included some pictures of my experiments and they look okay, but don’t judge a book by its cover because they truly are a work in progress.

Image[Sunday- cup of greek yogurt, half a cup of skim milk, and strawberries and bananas]

When discussing this struggle I was having with a friend, he told me “you only learn by failure in the kitchen!” After hearing that I thought, he is so right! Each time I make these combinations I am learning how much milk or how much fruit or how much spinach (not to add) before it becomes a messy concoction. I also learn by failure when cooking my meals, and discovering how to keep my lunches hot and fresh if I am packing them or to make my veggies flavorful by adding more spices.

Image[Most recent attempt- almond milk, strawberries, spinach, oats, greek yogurt, peanut butter, and a sprinkle of protein powder]

So readers, fellow bloggers, please help this troubled girl out and give me some advice on how I can improve my kitchen smoothie endeavors.

Here is what I am using right now- milk (submerge all ingredients), greek yogurt (half cup), spinach (handful), fruit (as much as desired), oats (¼ cup), and peanut butter (spoonful). I even added in sprinkle of my whey protein powder in one of them for some energy.

Here is some Wednesday motivation to cheer both you and me up 🙂

Image

Let’s Talk–

Want to find out more? Head to Peas and Crayons to check out how others are celebrating this What I Ate Wednesday!

Have a smoothie recipe that you can share with me and a step-by-step how-to?? Please comment!

As always you can click the WIAW Category on the right hand sidebar to explore some of my previous WIAW posts!

XOXO, Gabi

This entry was posted in WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) #16 {Smoothie Struggles-HELP!}

  1. Sam H says:

    Gabi,
    Typically, when I make smoothies they are a post-workout replenisher, but they are quite simple. I get a bag of frozen mixed fruit from Sam’s Club (or a specific fruit if I am feeling picky). And that is my base-ingredient. I fill the blender about halfway with fruit, put in 2 scoops of protein powder (a serving size is 4 scoops), and add skim milk until it is level with the too of the fruit.

  2. My go to workout is interval sprints. They get the job done and are sustainable :). Also your first smoothie looks delicious!!

    • gabiwalter says:

      YES, I like interval sprints too! They have great cardiovascular benefits and help build endurance. My first smoothie seemed to be a little to strong on the protein powder and almond extract (it tasted cherry flavored) haha… I’m going to keep trying 🙂

      • What protein powder do you use? I am a picky girl lol, but I’m I love with the Gold Standard line! I wrote a blog post about it (chocolate hazelnut protein milkshake). I love making smoothies healthier, I’ll be adding more recipes over the next few weeks 🙂

      • gabiwalter says:

        Thanks, I use Beveri why chocolate protein powder. I will be sure to check out your blog. 🙂

  3. For my smoothies I usually use anywhere between 1/2-3/4 cup milk (or water or brewed coffee), 1 scoop protein powder, fruit (usually 1 frozen banana), and whatever add ins (flaxseed, dates (chopped/pitted), nut butter, cinnamon, extract, spinach). Also I add 1/2 tsp. xanthan gum for thickening 🙂

  4. I’ve had a hard time coming up with smoothie recipes I enjoy, too. They always seem like they’d taste better if I added One More Thing. I guess it’s a learning process. Good luck. Have a great day!

  5. Brynn says:

    Coffee, almond milk, banana, cocoa powder and protein powder is my favorite morning smoothie post workout. It hits all of the important factors for a morning meal. When I make smoothies, I start simple (liquid, PP, fruit) and then taste, add in more, taste, and so on. It is a science, but they are so good once you get it!

  6. I see in your photo that it looks like you have your oats kind of on top of the liquid. I find that when I put oats in my smoothies, it almost works out better if you pulverize them in the blender first – otherwise you wind up having to chew your smoothie (which I, personally, hate!) One of my FAVORITE smoothies is any combo of oats, flax, and chia seeds (all whizzed up prior to adding anything else) with 1 frozen banana, 1/2 cup of spinach, 1 scoop of chocolate protein, and 1 tablespoon of peanut butter. I fill it with enough skim/soy/almond milk to cover and blend. Delish!!

    • gabiwalter says:

      Thank you for the advice Jen! I am writing down everyone’s tips and tricks, and you are the first to mention putting together the add-ins before the main ingredients. 🙂

  7. Jess says:

    All depends on the consistency you like. I like to make really thick smoothies, so I’ll use only ~1/2- 3/4 c milk and lots of ice. I also like to use frozen banana and/or frozen berries. Xanthan gum is another thing I use, ~1/2 tsp. One of my favorite smoothies is: 3/4 c milk, 1/2 frozen banana, 1/4 c pumpkin puree, 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 1 date, lots of ice, and 1/2 tsp of xanthan gum.

  8. I am smoothie obsessed, but it does take a while to get the hang of. My go-to smoothie is 1 frozen banana (it must be frozen!), ice, a handful of spinach, cinnamon, almond or peanut butter, a scoop of protein powder (I use Sun Warrior, and I find it makes my smoothies WAY better) and maybe some berries or other fruit I have lying around. I also like chia seeds or oats in there too (:

Leave a Reply

