WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) #17 {Finding Balance}

Hi friends! How has your week been so far? This WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) I am back on the regular schedule of featuring the many good eats of the week. Thank you to all of those who have helped me with my post workout smoothie recipes. Since last week they have been up to par.

My weekend was packed with working and homework, but productivity for the week has not yet stalled. Life is about finding the balance- the balance between the control and the uncontrolled. I think this phrase can mean something different to each of us when applying it to our own lives. For me personally, I try to strike a balance between focusing on what I can control now to better prepare me for what I cannot control in the future. For example, I have control over how much time I spend on my homework during one of my free days and do not have control over all the little obstacles that occur on my busy days, which sometimes just delay things even more. So getting work ahead of time, for me, is a big plus! How does this apply to your life? Where do you struggle to find control or the lack of? Too much of one extreme can be harmful, so where is that individual balance for you?

This balance is something I also discovered with food. Having a healthy lifestyle is all about balance and focusing on the mind, body, and soul. It is NOT about eating “low fat” foods or pushing your body beyond its limit at the gym. A healthy lifestyle is all about being your best self and giving your body the proper nutrition, exercise, and rest it needs. Many people forget that last one… In the business of our lives, we must take time to listen to our bodies and rest. Being on the far end of the spectrum in constant motion can wear us down. In respect to this WIAW, the proper nutrients your body needs is a diet full of protein, healthy fats, and carbohydrates- to put it simply…balance.

So here are some of my eats the past two weeks as I try to maintain a balanced, healthy lifestyle. Thanks Jenn for hosting!

Image

Image

[oatmeal, with nannerz, strawbs, cashews, and cinnamon]

Image

[Yogurt with fruit and nuts with whey protein powder and flaxseed]

Image

[English muffin with peanut butter and nannerz]

Image

[Snack plate with turkey, cheese, green beans, olives, triscuits, and an apple]

Image

[Veggie soup]

Image

[Goulash with sautéed veggies]

Image

[Rice with veggies and chicken]

Image

[Fruit bowl! 🙂 Yummy]

Image

[An apple with crackers and cheese]

Image

[Banana with slivered almonds and cinnamon]

Wednesday’s motivation..

Image

Let’s Talk–

Want to find out more? Head to Peas and Crayons to check out how others are celebrating this What I Ate Wednesday!

As always you can click the WIAW Category on the right hand sidebar to explore some of my previous WIAW posts!

XOXO, Gabi

This entry was posted in WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) #17 {Finding Balance}

  1. I love this message, you’re absolutely right that finding balance in your nutrition is the key. It’s about fueling your body properly, not restriction. 🙂

  2. I could not agree more! Finding balance is key. All of your eats look so healthy and super yummy.

  3. The motto you posted is so true. Discovering our own kind of balance – not necessarily what others define as that – can be tricky but it’s worth the satisfaction and happiness that comes with it.

Leave a Reply

