Recipe Sharing {Cashew Energy Bites & Protein Granola Bars}

Haaapppyyy Sunday! During the weekends I literally play catch up with myself when I do not have to work, and try to get ahead for the week on homework, running errands, and food prepping. It has been a beautiful couple of days here, so I have been taking advantage of getting outside and enjoying the warm weather. Who new that thirties would feel like such a heat wave??! It has been a terribly cold winter and I cannot wait for spring and the sunshine to stay. Did I mention we lost an hour of sleep? It is the time of year where we spring forward and the days slowly but surely get lighter and lighter. To me, the more sunshine the better!

Image

I’m sharing with you today some delicious treats that I am prepping for this week besides the usual preparation of cooking the meat for the week, making spaghetti squash, hard boiled eggs, and veggie assortments. I tried two new recipes from different bloggers I often follow for kitchen inspiration and life musings.

First up,  I made Morganne’s Cashew Energy Bites over at Nut Butter Runner and they turned out excellent! I substituted coconut flour for just regular all purpose flour because it was what I had on hand in the house. I cannot wait to add these to my snack plates this week or take a few on-the-go during a busy week day.

Image

Second, I made Amanda’s Soft and Chewy Protein Granola Bars over at Running With Spoons. I was looking though her list of recipes and when I came across this one, I knew I had to try it! The chocolate lover in me substituted the vanilla for chocolate protein powder.

Image

Image

BOTH of these recipes were really simple and easy to make. They also did not take too much time at all out of my usual food prep regimen. If I set aside a chunk of time during the weekend, I can get all my food prepping done in about an hour and a half.  Meal planning and grocery shopping for it all is another whole ordeal that usually takes place Friday nights. If I did it all in one day I think I would be exhausted! So breaking it up keeps me determined and motivated to be prepared for the week.

Image

I cannot wait to look up and try some more recipes for next week’s meals. Stay tuned for this upcoming WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) with some of my delicious meals from this past week AND a grocery list of the items I seek out each week to have in the kitchen. Remember, it’s all about having balance in your life, food included.

Let’s talk–

Have you been loving the sunshine lately?

What are you most looking forward to this spring?

What is your go-to food prep item during the week?

XOXO, Gabi

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Recipe Sharing {Cashew Energy Bites & Protein Granola Bars}

  1. Tiffany says:

    Oh yum those protein bars look SO yummy! Right now with my schedule I end up playing catchup on the weekends too.

  2. jillconyers says:

    Yum! And making this gluten free would be easy! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all people you
    really realize what you’re speaking about! Bookmarked.
    Kindly also discuss with my website =). We could have a hyperlink exchange arrangement among us

Leave a Reply

