WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) {Taking A Break}

Today I am taking a break from WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) to share an important message and something I have been discovering over the past week.  I have been under the weather for the past couple of days and these drastic change in temperatures are not helping. I think we can all agree that being sick is terrible! Especially for someone like me who is always on the go and doing things all the time. When you are not feeling well and not able to perform up to par, you get frustrated with yourself. Can anyone else relate? If only there was a magic pill that I could take and be better within minutes! 🙂

Being sick has got me thinking, specifically about health. Good health is something that I think many people take for granted. Good health is something you cannot buy, it’s something that you cannot take a shortcut to in life, and it’s something you can’t cheat on. Good health cannot be put at the end of your long to-do list for another day or be masked by a facade. Health is something that we live each day with and some struggle more than others to be in good health. For some of us, it’s genetics that put us on the shaky path and others our life choices. It is so true that if you have your health, you have everything.

I have been inspired this past week by many people who look for the light in their lives during times of bad health. Recently, I had to interview a fellow student for a class on a current project she is working on for pediatric cancer patients. She is a leukemia survivor for fifteen years now, and hearing her story and about how she is giving back is inspiring.

Being sick has helped me realize how much I appreciate my body when it is healthy and how important it is that I take care of it. That means, I really should be resting more than I am right now to get myself better faster, but it is so hard to step back and rest when you want to keep moving forward.

So I ask you, readers, what does good health mean to you?

What importance do you place on it in your life?

Is it something many of us take for granted?

Image

Still smiling,

XOXO Gabi

This entry was posted in WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

