WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) #21 {Packing, Plates, and the Premiere}

I think this might just be the biggest day of the week!! Tonight my student partnership documentary premieres on campus and I am headed home to finish packing for a much needed vacation. I literally CANNOT HOLD BACK my excitement!! Should I add more !!!!!!!!

I will be writing a post a little later on about the documentary and the process of it all, but basically it is based on the trip I took this past June to the Philippines. The documentary short film highlights the issue of street children in the Philippines. The term ‘street children’ describes individuals who are left homeless intentionally or unintentionally by families out on the city streets. Many non-governmental organizations (NGOs) and individuals are getting involved to battle this issue, but there is still a long way to go. My experience last June was absolutely amazing and the childrens’ stories are quite moving. By shedding light on this issue, I hope the world is more aware of these vulnerable individuals suffering to maintain some sense of life while left alone.

Image

More on that later, but now it’s time for….

Image

What I Ate Wednesday Sunday— Thanks Jenn as always for hosting!

I know I usually share a bunch of my eats from the week, but lately I have been taking the time to highlight one full day of eats.

To hear about what lead up to Sunday click here for the recap.

Sunday was the day I woke up with a good nights rest after a few late nights. For breakfast before heading out to Pilates at 8, I decided to have some delicious oatmeal filled with fruit and nuts.

Image

Later that morning I had an induction ceremony for my school’s Lambda Pi Eta Communications Honors Society, so I was quite hungry when I got home. I had a delicious veggie filled salad with meatloaf, shredded cheese, croutons, and balsamic vinaigrette. Could it be any more mountainous?? Yes, yes it could :). Then I sided it with a plate of some fruit and triscuits.

Image

Image

That afternoon was filled with writing an essay, doing miscellaneous homework, and being lured out by the gorgeous sun for an enjoyable run. Everyone was out on the bike path walking dogs, roller blading, walking, running, and biking. I cannot wait to get back into biking as the weather gets better. Look at that face! That is my mid run “hey I’m taking a selfie, I hope no one I pass sees me being thinks I’m crazy….but wait, I am..face haha”

Image

For Sunday dinner my parents made some delicious chicken on the grill sided with broccoli and a little rice and quinoa. It was the perfect dinner to top of the spring day!

Image

Time to get back to this busy Wednesday!!! Did I mention I leave for vacation tomorrow-AHH! Still gotta do some packing, but first a little Wednesday motivation…

Image

Let’s Talk–

What are you up to this Wednesday?!

Did you have some sunshine this past weekend?

Have you ever heard about the issue of street children?

What goes through your head right before you leave for vacation?

Want to find out more? Head to Peas and Crayons to check out how others are celebrating this What I Ate Wednesday!

As always you can click the WIAW Category on the right hand sidebar to explore some of my previous WIAW posts!

 XOXO, Gabi

Connect with me on other forms of social media-
Twitter: @Just__Gabi
Pinterest: Gabi Walter
Instagram: Gabi Walter

Email: gwalter@roadrunner.com

This entry was posted in WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) #21 {Packing, Plates, and the Premiere}

  1. We did have sunshine last weekend and it was AMAZING! It was just what I needed 🙂

  2. ranchcookie says:

    That bowl of oats looks yummy!

  3. SUNSHINE! It’s the best 🙂 Glad I found your blog!

Leave a Reply

