WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) # 22 {Taste of Sunshine}

Hello there!

How is everyone doing this Wednesday? Unlike the usual WIAW’s featuring meals that I make at home, this WIAW is comin’ at ya from the warm sandy beaches in Florida. I’m out for a little vacation before heading back home to finish up the semester. There has been tons of sunshine and my camera has been snapping away with beautiful pictures. It’s a little rainy today, but compared to the weather we have been having up north, anything will do! Spring has finally spring and this means that summer is right around the corner.

Image

Image

The meals I am featuring today are a mix of ones I whipped up in the condo’s kitchen or ordered out when tasting some local restaurant favorites. There is balance in finding and creating nutritious and delicious meals. I did not have the luxury of the full kitchen or the many ingredients I do at home, so a lot of the meals I made remained simple. Sometimes simple is better though right?

I’ve also been getting my running on with my first half coming up next month. Running on the beach is an immediate motivator down here. I literally grab my shoes and go! Plus I even set a new mile time with my Garmin watch!

Image

Image

So without further adieu, here is What I Ate Wednesday: Taste of Sunshine Edition. Thanks Jenn as always for hosting!

Image

Breakfast

Image

[Overnight oats with fruit and nuts]

Image

[Cheerios with milk, banana, blueberries, blackberries, and whey protein powder]

Image

[Egg scramble with turkey, red pepper, salsa, and some fruit]

Lunch

Image

[Banana and crunchy peanut butter wrap. Just fold over to top and voila- delicious! ]

Image

[Fruit parfait with oats, yogurt, and walnuts]

IMG_9864

[Chicken salad sandwich with mango slaw]

Dinner Soups

(yes I love soup, so I’m making it its own category ;))

Image

[Minorcan bowl- spicy tomato base with clams and veggies]

Image

[Seafood chowder with croutons]

Dinner

Image

[Mahi-mahi with black beans and steamed veggies]

Image

[Sesame seared Ahi Tuna lettuce wraps]

Image

[Homemade tacos with salsa and orange slices]

IMG_9818

[Salmon Piccata]

Dessert

Image

[Chocolate and vanilla frozen yogurt topped with blueberries and almonds]

IMG_9820

[Hazelnut Gelato]

Let’s Talk–

Do you have a simple, delicious, and healthy meal that you love to make? Share it with me.

Want to find out more? Head to Peas and Crayons to check out how others are celebrating this What I Ate Wednesday!

As always you can click the WIAW Category on the right hand sidebar to explore some of my previous WIAW posts!

Here’s a dose of the usual Wednesday inspiration….

Image

XOXO, Gabi

 

This entry was posted in WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) # 22 {Taste of Sunshine}

  1. That hazelnut gelato looks seriously delicious! I love making omelettes. I’ll use 4-5 egg whites and 1 egg. I also suatee the onions & meat prior. Then I add the onions, meat, tomatoes, avocados and whatever else into the eggs, whisk and cook. I add some cheese & hot sauce at the end. It’s simple but delicious and a healthy meal!

  2. ranchcookie says:

    Simple and delicious meals that I love to make are stir frys, just some steamed veggies and shrimp with some seasoning and braggs liquid aminos, so good! And takes hardly any time at all!

  3. SimplyShal says:

    Those meals look yummy : ) Yesterday I had to throw together something quick and healthy for my hubby who had went home early with a bit of a cold. We had some chicken stock at home, so after work I stopped at Aldi (one of my faves!) to grab some celery and carrots (and then mushrooms, since they were on sale!). All I had to do was warm up the stock on the stove, wash/cut the veggies and plop em in, and let it al simmer till the veggies were soft enough. I tossed in some garlic and a dash of onion salt. It was quick and tasty!

  4. Your meals look so good! And that froyo… good thing I don’t live by one other wise I’d spend all my money there 🙂

    That minorcan bowl looks delicious. Do you have a recipe? I’ve never seen it before!

    • gabiwalter says:

      The minorcan soup was something I actually tried for the first time on my trip here- quite delicious and definitely spicy. I do not have a recipe and looked on the web to see what I could refer you to, but there doesn’t seem to be much! I will keep you posted though 🙂

  5. Fit Radiance says:

    I love the look of your breakfasts! And the frozen yogurt looks super indulgent :p

    • gabiwalter says:

      Thank you so much! The frozen yogurt WAS SO GOOD! If I had this place near my home, I might just live there. We all get to treat ourselves on vacation 🙂

Leave a Reply

