My New Year’s Resolution Update: Living in the Present Moment

One of my New Year’s resolutions for 2014 was to take in the present moment. I wrote a blog post about my (2013) year in review and about how so much of life is focused on the future. Everything we are doing now is for later. Just think of all the things you are doing right now to serve the future?— the to-do lists, the holiday and birthday shopping, the food prepping, what can you think of in your daily life?

So there it was, my New Year’s resolution written down and declared. However, as much as I desired to stick with it, I found I had a lot of trouble. Our lives these days are not meant to take time in what is going on NOW. It is if you want it to be, but I noticed my life is always about the next thing. Whatever I was in the middle of doing, for example my morning runs, I would think for those five miles about what I was going to do when I got home and in what order- shower first, breakfast, check emails, etc…

A few weeks ago I had a realization of what I was doing-> not following through with my resolution.

Saying it and doing it are two different things! Actions speak louder than words, and up to this point I only had the words.

So I re-evaluated my schedule and discovered how I can truly find enjoyment in the present moment amongst the hustle and bustle of this roller coaster called “life.”

Here are some things I have found:

IMG_9976[I enjoy catching up with my sister and capturing our funny moments]

I set aside time to chat with family and/or friends to catch up on our lives. Not just a quick text of the usual check-in and “hello,” but in person. Chatting over dinner is a wonderful way to catch up or doing activities together like going for walks or shopping. Yesterday I went shopping to going shopping to keep my grandmother company and well…I basically went shopping too 🙂 She could not resist the sales, and I could not resist all the cute spring clothes.

Sometimes we all need time alone and to ourselves. So put down the electronics, leave your phone at home, and take a walk outside on a nice day. That forces you take in what is around you, and it feels good to clear your head and get some fresh air. Now that spring is here and the weather is better, I plan on taking many walks and leisurely bike rides around the neighborhood.

I take time at the end of my day to highlight the highs and lows. Taking five minutes before bed to think about my day really helps me see the good and the bad.

Finally, taking the time to journal. For me, blogging is my creative outlet where I get to share my thoughts about what is going on in my life. Not only is it a passion of mine, but it helps me process the present moment.

Image

Let’s Talk–

What ways do you find are helpful in trying to enjoy the present?

Any fun plans for this weekend?

Do you celebrate Easter?

Enjoy your Saturday, and Happy (almost) Easter!

XOXO, Gabi

This entry was posted in 2014, Spring Semester 2013 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My New Year’s Resolution Update: Living in the Present Moment

  1. ranchcookie says:

    I love the idea to just leave your phone and electronics at home and go for a walk. Nothing is better than actually paying attention to the scenery and hey sometimes even though you see a perfect sunset it is better not to have a picture but to relish the view at hand and have that memory!

    • gabiwalter says:

      I agree, because if my phone is with me I will simply be distracted by social media and what not. There is something special about witnessing a beautiful moment with the eyes rather than through a camera lens. 🙂

  2. I have noticed that running outside without my phone as a distraction has been awesome! It makes me “appreciate the roses.”

Leave a Reply

