WIAW #25 {Homestretch}

So guys, I totally thought yesterday was Wednesday when I woke up. I jumped out of bed in a panic because I did not have a blog post done. Then it hit me..it was Tuesday.

Not only is today Wednesday, but there are exactly two more sleeps until this semester is over 🙂 I am in the HOMESTRETCH!! Last week I was a complete mess with my head underwater in a pool full of work. This is exam week and things are spread out much better.

So happy WIAW everyone, I am glad I did not miss the party. Today I am sharing with you Monday’s eats and a little update about my half marathon training. The race is coming up next month!

Image

Thank you Jenn for hosting the paarrttaayyy!

What I Ate Wednesday Tuesday

Breakfast

Image

[Peanut butter and banana flatbread with walnuts, cranberries, and granola]

Lunch

Image

[Homemade goulash with rice]

Image

[Fruit, fruit, and more fruit!!]

Dinner

IMG_0578

[Leftover cinnamon and Caribbean chicken with steamed veggies over rice]

As for the update with the half marathon training, all is going well. I had a bit of a downfall when I was on vacation at pushing myself too hard. I had the extra time to train so I pushed myself and I ended up having to take a week off and pull back. Now, I am a full week back in it and I have never felt better. It is SO IMPORTANT to listen to your body!! I ran 9 miles on Sunday, did some Pilates yesterday (PowerYoga was canceled and I was slightly devastated because I was home for the night), and ran another five miles yesterday. Thanks to Vega Sport, I keep my body fueled through it all 🙂 I will be doing a blog post soon on the products I am reviewing. Thank you again to Vega Sport and Fit Approach for this wonderful opportunity!

Blog 46

Let’s Talk–

I have so many questions for you race runners out there-

-Is there any food or vitamin you make sure your body is getting an extra dose of when you are training for a half marathon?

-What is the best recovery food after a long run?

-How much do you hydrate?

In WIAW news-

Want to find out more? Head to Peas and Crayons to check out how others are celebrating this What I Ate Wednesday!

As always you can click the WIAW Category on the right hand sidebar to explore some of my previous WIAW posts!

Screen Shot 2014-05-06 at 10.36.59 PM

 I thought this quote was perfect for this week because as the semester is winding down, it is important to remember that you have done your best. You are awesome for being YOU.

XOXO, Gabi

This entry was posted in WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to WIAW #25 {Homestretch}

  1. Leigha says:

    I have one month left of school – so excited to be done! I think it is awesome that you’re training for a marathon! I’ve only done halfs, but I love pancakes/eggs/green smoothies after a long run 🙂

  2. Yay!! You are so close!! Great training and good job listening to your body. It’s so hard to pull back when you find you have more time to train! Funny how that works out, isn’t it?

    -Is there any food or vitamin you make sure your body is getting an extra dose of when you are training for a half marathon?
    The one thing that I have found is that no matter how I refuel or try to get potassium in to prevent muscle cramps, the only solution for me is to eat a banana at some point during the day after a training run. Despite a multivitamin, electrolyte replacer (I use nuun), or other food sources…a banana is it for me! I also try to increase my carbs more during the race week while you are tapering.

    -What is the best recovery food after a long run?
    I am a big fan of eggs. If it’s a hot run, then I typically want a cold smoothie though! Just make sure to get a good mix of carbohydrates and protein.

    -How much do you hydrate?
    I drink A LOT of water. Typically 48 ounces before lunch and at least another 48 ounces after lunch. I try to hydrate a lot more the day before the race and only take a few sips of water before the race starts to prevent having to make a pit stop 🙂

    Hope that helps! Good luck!!

  3. This is my exam week too. Good luck! Your meals look a lot better than some of my roommate’s exam week eats. haha. Actually, I wouldn’t be surprised if most of them forget to eat entirely somedays. Lol.

  4. Pingback: WIAW #2 (What I Ate Wednesday) - Eat Clean with Kate

Leave a Reply

