Liebster Award {Privileged and Paying it Forward}

Do you know what day it is?? SATURDAY! My FIRST HALF MARATHON is officially LESS THAN 24 HOURS AWAY and I am STOKED! Can you tell by all of the capitals I am using?! Today I am honored to announce that I’ve been nominated for a Liebster Award! Woohoo! I was nominated by Autumn Blaszko over at AutunmPTW, a fellow Sweat Pink Ambassador.

To find out more about me, simply click here 🙂

Image

Info About the “Liebster Award”

The Liebster Award, or “the favorite blog award”, is an internet-based award that is given to bloggers by other bloggers. In Germany, the word “liebster” has the same meaning as “favorite, beloved, or dearest.” This award is primarily given to blogs that have less than 200 followers. That way, it helps the blogger with being more known to the world as well as giving the blogger the opportunity to learn about more amazing bloggers.

Thank you Autumn for nominating me! I am so excited to be paying it forward to some other deserving women.

Here are my answers to the questions I was asked:

1.) When it comes to blogging what do you struggle with most?

When it comes to blogging, the thing I struggle with most is being on a schedule with posts. I mostly post when can take the time to write my thoughts down or have some inspiration for a topic.

Photo I took last Easter at Disney World! :)

Photo I took last Easter at Disney World! 🙂

2.) What made you decide to begin blogging?

I decided to begin blogging after I went to a “How-to Start A Blog” session at a media conference Sophomore year of college in NYC. I’ve always wanted to share my love for writing more publicly and this was my opportunity to make that happen. Actually, I think the first three posts are from my experience at the conference haha…

IMG_2276

3.) What’s the story behind your blog name?

My blog name is my name because when I first started blogging I did not have a specific topic I wanted to write about. I wanted to write about me and my experience doing all sorts of things I love from cooking, to running, to sharing stories. The purpose is to show the world who I am and hope that readers relate to the person I am. I want to inspire people on the other side of the computer screen to make positive changes in their lives. I want them to know that life has its ups and downs and I am a girl trying to handle them all. Just look at the post I wrote on Thursday :/. Like my home page says, “I am finding who I am with the world at my fingertips.”

Screen Shot 2014-05-24 at 7.29.06 AM

4.) Which blog post of yours are you most proud of?

I am most proud of my first blog post because in it I have such a raw desire to share my outlook on life with the blogging community. It’s amazing to see how far I have come and how many admirers I have gained. I look back to that post and my reason for starting a blog as motivation to keep writing and sharing my story.

5.) If you could live one day over again, what would it be?

This is a tough question because I believe in no regrets and going back in life to change things. But if I chose one day to live over again the exact same way? Well, that would be the day last summer when I was in the Philippines visiting and filming the children at Child Hope-> a non-governmental organization working to help street children obtain better lives. The day was filled with interviews, off site visits, and getting to know the children. They absolutely melt your heart and it is wonderful what Child Hope and many other NGOs are doing around the world.

IMG_4221

6.) Tea or coffee? (cheat question: how do you like either?)

I am not a coffee drinker and do not think I ever will be. Tea on the other hand I especially love during cold winter nights. I like that with some lemon and about two equals.

IMG_0600

7.) What’s the most unusual workout/exercise you’ve ever done?

I have yet to do a workout that I find unusual, but the first thing that comes to my mind is my struggle with advanced yoga poses. As a dancer, most are fine. However, sometimes I feel really unusual/awkward when I am trying something new and not quite sure if it looks right. Heck, I even laugh at myself when I am trying to twist my arms around my body, lift my legs, balance on my arms, and breath calmly all at the same time haha…

IMG_9762

8.) What do you think of Conversational High-Fives: (High-fiving any time other than playing a sport)?

I am all about positive reinforcement. So high-fives throughout the day are always great to give others. It’s a motion that says, “YEESS” or “Right on!” “We got thiss!” “Great job!” It shows we appreciate one another and are proud of our accomplishments.

9.) What is your biggest pet peeve with society?

My biggest pet peeve with society would have to be slow walkers. I’m sorry to all of you out there who take your time getting to places, but this girl is always on a mission. Sometimes I just want to yell at the people in front of me, “Walk with a purpose!”

10.) What’s your favorite quote from a film?

My favorite quote from a film would have to be “Never let the fear of striking out keep you from playing the game.” Anyone know the movie?? It’s the Cinderella Story. I loved this movie for years because the quote was so relatable to my life, and it still is. I should never let the fear of failure hold me back from going after my dreams.

Screen Shot 2014-05-24 at 7.28.12 AM

11.) What and/or who inspires you?

The start of a new day inspires me because I get a new beginning with new opportunities that do not depend on the days past. I can put my stressful work, or a bad workout behind me and start fresh- a clean slate. My best friend and roommate, Emma, inspires me daily in way too many ways to name. She helps keep me sane when I put too many things on my plate haha.., I can’t help but say “yes” to people 🙂

IMG_0525

Here are my nominees:

Mary Beth- @tutusandtennis

Lily- @thisnurseruns

Debbie- @debbieinshape

Ilsay- @fitensity

Elisha- @byebyemomjeans

Donna- @fabfitfun

Nicole- @nicolelabonde

Nominees, here are my questions for you:

1.) What is the story behind your blog?

2.) What is your favorite meal to make at home?

3.) What is the best $100 you have ever spent?

4.) If you could be featured in Health magazine for your blog, what kind of article would you contribute?

5.) What is one skill you would like to obtain over the next two years?

6.) What is one piece of advice that you wish you could pass on to everyone else?

7.) If we were to pull out all of the items in your gym bag right now, what would we find?

8.) Whenever you are having a bad day, what is the best thing you can do to help cheer yourself up?

9.) If, like the newspaper, you could have anything of your choice delivered to your doorstep every morning, what particular item would you want it to be?

10.) What is one way you hope to influence readers with your blog?

Nominees here are the rules:

1. You must answer the 10 Liebster questions given to you by the blogger who nominated you.

2. You must pick 10 bloggers with a small following to be nominated for the award.

3. You must create 10 questions for the nominees to answer on their blog.

4. Then link back to the person who nominated you.

5.  And then go to each new nominees’ blog and notify them of the nomination!

I think this will be a lot of fun for you ladies!

Readers! I want your participation too as a way to get to know you! Please feel free to comment below by answering one of the ten questions I gave to the nominees. Everyone is welcome 🙂

XOXO, Gabi

This entry was posted in 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Liebster Award {Privileged and Paying it Forward}

  1. thank you! this will be tons of fun! I can’t wait to get started!

  2. Ilsay says:

    Thanks for nominating me! 🙂 I just did my liebster award and I was thinking I could add you in as one of the ones who nominated me. Or however!

  3. Elisha says:

    Thank you for nominating me! It truly means a lot to me!

  4. Pingback: LiebsterAward- Privileged and Paying it Forward! | Tutus and Tennies

  5. Thank you for the nomination!!! Here is my reply! http://bit.ly/SxNx73

  6. Pingback: Shout Out Saturday – May 31st, 2014 | Debbieinshape.com

Leave a Reply

