If the Shoe Fits…{Are Your Running Shoes Right For You?}

So I have a confession for you all…

Although I’ve been running seriously for about a year, I still know nothing about my feet. Why might I be saying this you ask?? Well, I just got my first pair of serious running shoes in December for Christmas (Brooks Ghost 6), got my first Garmin watch (Forerunner 220– my baby) in March for my 21st birthday, and completed my first half marathon this past Sunday.

Image

I already need new shoes! So I went to a local running store to get my gait analyzed and I discovered a lot about my feet I did not know. It is important to know… Are your running shoes right for you? I’ve complied some tips on how to find that out 🙂

Image

***I have found it helps to bring the shoes you run in now.***

There are a lot of questions to be answered!

Following a lot of fitness bloggers I am always interested in what kind of shoes they are wearing. However, I learned from getting my run analyzed that I need a shoe that has stability when I run, especially because I have overpronation in my left foot. Overpronation is when the foot rolls inward to meet the ground. I wanted to try Brooks Purecadence or Saucony Kinvara, but the heel-to-toe ratios are not the best for my type of foot when running. I found out too that I have glute/hip instability causing my feet to knock when I run and cause wear on the side of my left shoe. I’ve noticed this on the past two pairs of sneakers I’ve had and now, I have an answer 🙂

Any recommendations on how I can strengthen this fellow runners??

I am a dedicated runner, hard worker, and I only want to improve my running while being safe and preventing injury. If there is one thing I have learned over these past few days, it’s that there is still so much I have yet to learn about my own two feet!

Wondering what shoe I went with?? Answer- Brooks Adrenaline GTS 14 🙂 This shoe will give my feet the stability they need when running.

Let’s Talk–

Have you recently discovered something about your feet in your running journey?

Does anyone else overpronate out there? What shoe do you find works best for you when you run/strength train/do a HIIT workout?

XOXO, Gabi

This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to If the Shoe Fits…{Are Your Running Shoes Right For You?}

  1. kristenk says:

    So true! I overpronate and I’m so glad I got professionally fitted at a running store or I would be in a lot of pain on my long runs. Congrats on new shoes!

  2. ranchcookie says:

    I have been wanting to go into a running store and see what they say for awhile but we don’t have any close to me! I have noticed that heavier shoes seem to bother my shins and I need to stick to lightweight shoes I’m trying the brooks cadence now! So far besides new shoe blisters I love them!

  3. So true- there is lots to learn about our feet! I found out I wasn’t even wearing the right size!

  4. ktouellette says:

    I just got fitted 2 days ago because I have had pretty bad knee pain. I was wearing neutral sneakers and need stability because I over pronate pretty bad on both feet. I also have a pretty high arch that was slamming down to a complete flat as I hit the ground. I never even knew there were different running shoes (stability, neutral, etc). I am now wearing Saucony Hurricane 16. More than I would spend on sneakers normally… And I wish I did this month’s ago before buying 2 pairs that I can’t wear running. But it is worth it because I want to run again and not get injured! I wanted a color that the store didn’t have but I’m sucking it up because I want sneakers to run!

Leave a Reply

