WIAW Recipe {Portobello Pizza Salad}

Hello, hello! This week is shaping up to be okay after the weekend I had.

I think becoming sick was a sign of my body telling me I need to slow down. I tend to do so much that sometimes when I continuously get a lack of sleep, I wear my body down. It can’t keep up like others. I have the type of body that always needs 8-10 hours of sleep. Yes, you will find me out cold by 9:30pm and not up sometimes until 8am 🙂

So I’ve been taking a break from exercise these past few days to rest/sleep and get rid of this cold. Yesterday I woke up being able to manage my runny/stuffy nose and got to hang out with one of my best friends and go kayaking along the water front. We were planning on water biking, but the place was closed so we decided to kayak instead. It was a lot of fun! 😀 Very pretty too!!

Image

Image

Image

How are you doing? I’ve been making some different dishes in the kitchen and this WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) I am sharing a new recipe with you. It is called Portobello Pizza Salad. What I love about this meal is that it is SUPER EASY to make and quite delicious! Did I mention it’s also healthy? Feel free to try it out and add it to your list of quick dinner meals.

Image

 

Ingredients Needed:

Balsamic Vinaigrette
Aluminum foil
Portobello Mushroom
Spinach
Tomatoes
Shredded cheese (I use parmesan)
Salad mix of choice (I like spinach)
Salad toppings of choice ( olives, croutons, and chickpeas in picture)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and place aluminum foil onto a baking sheet.

In a bowl, lightly marinate the portobello mushroom in balsamic vinaigrette until covered.

Transfer the mushroom onto the baking sheet and top with spinach, tomatoes, and cheese.

Image

Place in the oven for 20-25 minutes or until cheese is melted.

While the mushroom is in the oven, place your salad mix onto a plate and chop up your desired toppings.

Once the portobello pizza is ready, take it out of the oven and place it over your salad mix.

Sprinkle the whole thing with your toppings of choice.

Finally, drizzle on some balsamic to finish off the salad.

ENJOY!

As always, thanks Jenn for hosting this awesome party!

Image

Let’s Talk—

What fun summer activities have you done this week?

What new recipes have you been trying lately?

Want to find out more? Head to Peas and Crayons to check out how others are celebrating this What I Ate Wednesday!

As always you can click the WIAW Category on the right hand sidebar to explore some of my previous WIAW posts!

XOXO, Gabi

Let’s Connect!

Blog: www.gabriellekwalter.com
Twitter: @Just__Gabi
Instagram: http://instagram.com/gabiwalter
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/gabiwalter
This entry was posted in WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WIAW Recipe {Portobello Pizza Salad}

  1. ranchcookie says:

    A mushroom pizza yum! That looks and sounds delicious!

  2. Welcome to Mommyhood says:

    This sounds awesome! I really need to try it! Pinned!

  3. Pingback: WIAW #4 (What I Ate Wednesday) - Eat Clean with Kate

  4. Wow, sounds incredibly delish! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

