My Fear of the Negatives

Today I am linking up with Strength and Sunshine! #PowerMonday

I got the inspiration for this post a couple weeks ago when my boyfriend and I went paddle boarding.

It was my first time and I knew he had done it before, so I hoped to catch on fast so I could keep up with him. Immediately when the the girl showed me how to get on and grab the paddle and stand…I knew it was going to be a bit of a challenge. I just didn’t want to fall and I wanted it to be easy for me.

For the first fifteen minutes I was up and down trying to get my balance and figure out how to use the paddle, and eventually…I got it! That fifteen minutes wiped away my fear of falling into the water and not getting the technique so easy on the first try. Oh yes, there was a lot of laughing and giggling going on too!

While out there on the water I realized I have a fear of the negatives. So failing to reach a goal I have set myself, or falling down, or not being able to run as far today as I did yesterday.

What I mean by that is anything that causes a set back.

Many people in life do. We are constantly moving forward and looking to improve and gain something from all that we do. But what happens when we come up short. Do we like it? Do we learn from it?

Without accepting failure we cannot succeed. Without falling, we cannot pick ourselves back up.

Success requires risk to step out of the comfort zone, and if we are afraid to take that risk, we will never reach our full potential of success. We keep ourselves in our self-made prisons, limiting what we can gain because we are afraid to lose.

So embrace your failures, but you’re NOT a failure, because it is in that fall that you were able to then succeed. 🙂

IMG_1562

Let’s Talk–

What success of yours required you to let yourself fail?

XOXO, Gabi

Let’s Connect!

Blog: www.gabriellekwalter.com
Twitter: @Just__Gabi
Instagram: http://instagram.com/gabiwalter
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/gabiwalter
This entry was posted in Summer 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Fear of the Negatives

  1. This goes along with my failure post I did a few weeks ago! You are never a failure until you give-up fully…simple as that! Keep persevering and if you don’t believe your a failure, than you are not one
    Thanks for link-up lovely! XOXO

  2. Carmy says:

    “Without accepting failure we cannot succeed. Without falling, we cannot pick ourselves back up.” this. couldn’t have said it any better myself!

  3. gabiwalter says:

    Thanks so much Carmy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

