Newbie On My Yoga Mat

Happy Tuesday everyone!

Since January I have been attending a yoga class once a week at my gym, power yoga to be exact. This summer I’ve begun to go more regularly and in doing so I am finding that there is a lot to learn about myself on the mat. Right now I consider myself a “newbie on my yoga mat” and I seek to really dive into this practice further this year. Today I am sharing with you all my “newbie” tendencies on the mat and the things I have discovered so far in my journey.

_________________________________________________________________________________________

It’s no secret that when starting off everyone wants to look like this

[Google Images]

[Google Images]

But cannot help but look like this….

Screen Shot 2014-07-14 at 10.34.50 PM

[Google Images]

Sometimes I forget to breathe

[Technically you're supposed to exhale when contracted and inhale when expanded...but you get what the kittens are saying :)]

[Technically you’re supposed to exhale when contracted and inhale when expanded…but you get what the kittens are saying :)]

OR am huffing and puffing with my breathe out of sync with the sun salutation flow.

Being a dancer, I have to admit I am guilty of a few pointed toes here and there.

[Google Images]

[Google Images]

I love the concept of connecting with oneself because with working out (running, Pilates, lifting weights) there is so much focus on the physical, outer appearance. It is nice to take time and focus on the inside.

Strength in yoga is more than just physical strength, it’s mental too.

My mat is a place of challenge released from all self prisons. There is no saying “I can’t do that,” or “I’m not strong enough to hold this pose for that long”…you can do it, right here, on the mat.

When you come to yoga there is a community that surrounds you— all sorts of people come together to do yoga.

To me, yoga is a process of progress– you see yourself change in great ways each week- in strength, openness, peace, flexibility, awareness, acceptance, possibilities, and so much more.

Let’s Talk–

Do you practice Yoga? What is one thing you have learned in your journey so far?

XOXO, Gabi

 

P.S. Here is a quote that was shared at Power Yoga the other day 🙂 Enjoy you’re Tuesday everyone!!

[Google Images]

[Google Images]

Let’s Connect!

Blog: www.gabriellekwalter.com
Twitter: @Just__Gabi
Instagram: http://instagram.com/gabiwalter
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/gabiwalter
This entry was posted in Summer 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Newbie On My Yoga Mat

  1. I think your starting to sound like me 😉
    I am slowly trying to perfect my breathing, but at time I am off too. But my favorite instructors say it really is most important to just breath. It doesn’t matter if you are inhaling while the teacher says exhale. As long as you are allowing your breath to flow, you are fine and you are in your practice!

  2. gabiwalter says:

    Haha 🙂 I’m glad you’re going through the same things. Thanks for the breathing advice, it is something I seek to work on each day. Happy Tuesday!

  3. kristenk says:

    Great post! I keep trying to get into yoga so I’m a super-newbie, and I loved reading about your thoughts! It sounds like you’re doing really good at adjusting to being a yogi. Do you take classes or do it at home?

    • gabiwalter says:

      Sometimes I do my own morning routines at home, but mostly I do it at my local LA Fitness gym. There is a special instructor that comes in and holds classes. I did try out a local power yoga studio recently called Mind Body FLow Yoga, and I am interested in taking classes there because it is a more structured, yoga specific environment. I hope this helps! Let me know if you have any other questions. Thanks for the comment, Kristen 🙂

Leave a Reply

